Welcome HOME to SatelliteGuys! We are America's Most Popular Satellite Forum!

        

Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: 2 Hopper + OTA Question

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 8th, 2007
    Posts
    63
    Post Thanks / Like

    Question 2 Hopper + OTA Question

    I'm a long-time Dish subscriber and currently have (1) 722k and (1) 612. I've been waiting for the OTA tuners to come out, and am glad this price drop has coincided with its release.

    I really only want 2 Hoppers total, so today I ordered 2 Hoppers and 2 Joeys. The CSR waived one of the Hopper Fees, so it's just $50 up front, and as I understand it, I need to refuse the two Joeys when the installer brings them to end up with just 2 Hoppers (from another forum here).

    My first question is, how do you add the OTA tuners and can I get one for each Hopper (2 total)? The CSR said that I would need to order those online and have them delivered in time for the installation. Now, when I go on to MyDish, it shows that I can't do any changes/orders: You have an open appointment, please complete your request after your appointment is complete.

    Second, she also mentioned that they are $50, not the $30 I've seen cited here. What would y'all recommend for getting those added to my order?

    Third, she said that the technician would have to transfer my content from the 722k to the Hopper, even though I have the EHD enabled and a hard drive. Can't I just copy my content to the hard drive and transfer it to the Hopper when I want to? It seems like that would take an installer a long time.

    Thanks!


  2. # ADS
    Register Today & This Ad Goes Away! Syndicated Advertisement
    Join Date
    Always
    Posts
    Many

    Reigster at SatelliteGuys
     
  3. #2
    Help Keep SatelliteGuys For All, Click a Star and Become a Supporter! lucky86 did! Help Support The Site And Get Rid of the Syndicated Ads, lucky86 did! If you enjoy the site consider supporting it, lucky86 did! Be COOL like lucky86 and Click a Star and become a Supporting Pub Member today!
    Join Date
    Sep 19th, 2012
    Location
    By the sea, in a land called Honalee
    Posts
    3,164
    Post Thanks / Like
    Gamer IDs

    PSN ID: #xbox4life
    The installer is not going to transfer the content for you because that would take hours and hours. You can transfer the content to your EHD from the 722 now and then connect the EHD to your Hopper when you get it.

    The agent should have been able to add the OTA to the work order I believe, when they first set it up. You now may just need to wait until the order is complete and then go online and order it. Shipping is usually 3 day max, in my experience. The OTA module for the hopper is $30, NOT $50.

  4. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 8th, 2007
    Posts
    63
    Post Thanks / Like
    Thread Starter
    Quote Originally Posted by lucky86 View Post
    The installer is not going to transfer the content for you because that would take hours and hours. You can transfer the content to your EHD from the 722 now and then connect the EHD to your Hopper when you get it.

    The agent should have been able to add the OTA to the work order I believe, when they first set it up. You now may just need to wait until the order is complete and then go online and order it. Shipping is usually 3 day max, in my experience. The OTA module for the hopper is $30, NOT $50.
    Thanks, that's what I was hoping. I didn't want the installer there for hours anyway. So, I just need to wait until after the Hoppers are installed to get on MyDish.com and order the OTA (or two)?

  5. #4
    Help Keep SatelliteGuys For All, Click a Star and Become a Supporter! lucky86 did! Help Support The Site And Get Rid of the Syndicated Ads, lucky86 did! If you enjoy the site consider supporting it, lucky86 did! Be COOL like lucky86 and Click a Star and become a Supporting Pub Member today!
    Join Date
    Sep 19th, 2012
    Location
    By the sea, in a land called Honalee
    Posts
    3,164
    Post Thanks / Like
    Gamer IDs

    PSN ID: #xbox4life
    That is what I would recommend instead of trying to call or get IRT involved just to get your OTA module early. If I was you, I would just enjoy the Hopper and order the OTA module online once the option is available.

  6. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 24th, 2006
    Posts
    1,646
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by sms1976 View Post
    Thanks, that's what I was hoping. I didn't want the installer there for hours anyway. So, I just need to wait until after the Hoppers are installed to get on MyDish.com and order the OTA (or two)?
    message someone at DIRT like ZachS about the OTA adapter. They might be able to sort you out.

    On the
    bottom of the main forum page


    , you'll see the usernames in red with @DISH Network at the end. Those are official reps from Dish that are active on the forum right now. Just send them a private message with your account or phone number.


    http://www.satelliteguys.us/forum.php


    (scroll down to the bottom)




Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •